Skip Navigation
You are viewing an older version of this Concept. Go to the latest version.

Polygon Classification

Categories of polygons based on the number of sides.

Atoms Practice
This indicates how strong in your memory this concept is
Practice Now
Turn In
Polygon Classification

Notes/Highlights Having trouble? Report an issue.

Color Highlighted Text Notes
Show More


Concave A concave polygon has at least one interior angle greater than 180 degrees. A common way to identify a concave polygon is to look for a "caved-in" side of the polygon.
Convex A convex polygon contains no interior angles greater than 180 degrees.
Decagon A decagon is a ten sided polygon.
Diagonal A diagonal is a line segment in a polygon that connects nonconsecutive vertices
Exterior angles An exterior angle is the angle formed by one side of a polygon and the extension of the adjacent side.
Heptagon A heptagon is a seven sided polygon.
Hexagon A hexagon is a six sided polygon.
Interior angles Interior angles are the angles inside a figure.
Nonagon A nonagon is a nine sided polygon.
Octagon An octagon is an eight sided polygon.
Pentagon A pentagon is a five sided polygon.
Polygon A polygon is a simple closed figure with at least three straight sides.
Regular Polygon A regular polygon is a polygon with all sides the same length and all angles the same measure.
Vertices Vertices are points where line segments intersect.
Equilateral A polygon is equilateral if all of its sides are the same length.

Image Attributions

Explore More

Sign in to explore more, including practice questions and solutions for Polygon Classification.
Please wait...
Please wait...