• Prokaryotes are single-celled organisms that lack a nucleus.
  • They also lack other membrane-bound organelles.
  • The first cells and organisms to evolve would be classified as prokaryotic.
  • Prokaryote domains are Bacteria and Archaea.
  • The third domain is Eukarya.
  • It includes all eukaryotes.
  • Archaea were once thought to be offshoots of Bacteria that were adapted to extreme environments.
  • Scientists now know that Archaea share several traits with eukarya that Bacteria do not.
Select from the frequently asked questions below